Website Manager

Atlanta District Amateur Soccer League

League History

A Brief Overview Of The Atlanta District Amateur Soccer League

The Atlanta District Amateur Soccer League, Inc., now in its 51st year, was founded in 1967 in conjunction with the creation of the Atlanta Chiefs, Atlanta's first professional soccer team. The coaches and players of the Chiefs helped to establish this league to generate interest in soccer. The ADASL was the first league created locally and also became the first, and now oldest, member of the Georgia State Soccer Association. One of our founders, player-coach Phil Woosnam went on to become the North American Soccer League chairman and an inductee into the U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame. Today, the league that helped to bring soccer to Georgia is the league of choice for the serious player.

The League started with 9 teams in 1967 and grew to 40 teams in 4 divisions by the early 1980's. In that first year, the league played two seasons, split between the fall and spring. To determine a champion in that first year the league decided that the winner of the Fall Season (Lockheed Tornado) play the winner of the Spring Season (the University of Georgia men's club team). The UGA club team had been invited to join the newly formed league to help boost their numbers. Both teams, Lockheed and UGA, went 15 and 1 that season, losing their respective away games against each other. The final was played before an Atlanta Chiefs home game in the old Atlanta Fulton County Stadium. The Lockheed Tornado overcame the UGA club team by a score of 1-0 to win the inaugural league championship!

Current membership averages around 30 teams for the Major Season. The Major Season is the main competitive season starting in October and running through late spring.

In 1979, a newly formed team called Datagraphic won the National Amateur Cup by beating the San Francisco Glens in front of a home crowd at Atlanta's Fulton County Stadium. The team had just been created the previous spring, winning the ADASL Summer League, Full Season, League Cup, State Amateur Cup and Regional Amateur Cup on the way. They went on to win 12 League titles under the Datagraphic name and two more as an Over 30 side. In the spring of 2000 the over-30 team made it to the finals of the Over 30 National Amateur Cup, losing out to a team from Eastern Pennsylvania. In all, those Datagraphic teams were in 5 National Cup finals, won 11 Regional Cup finals, and 19 State Cup finals, all over a span of 22 years.

In addition to our American players we've attracted many international players including teams of Bosnian, Caribbean, Croatian, Ecuadorian, English, Ethiopian, Ghanaian, Greek, Iranian, Irish, Jamaican, Mexican, Nigerian, Peruvian, Romanian, Scandinavian, Scottish, Serbian and Turkish nationalities.

Many players from the pro ranks have played for teams in the ADASL. Among them are Angus McAlpine, Danny Payton, Nick Papadakis, Henry Largie, Alan Hamlyn, David Chadwick, Graham Tutt, and Macoumba Kandji to name a few. In addition to professional players, the ADASL boasts many former members among leadership positions in the State, Regional, and National governing bodies of the sport.

Copyright © 2019 ADASL
Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In